European Golden Shoe 2017

18 August 2017

A lot of football analysts in representation of the best national championships, according to the UEFA ranking, claim that between the fifth and sixth places there is no difference. Undoubtedly, there is no difference if we speak about representation of national championships of two countries in the next Champions League draw as both championships will be presented by three best teams.

European Golden Shoe 2017

However in the five-year UEFA associations ranking between the fifth and sixth places there is a huge difference if we speak about an annual competition of the top goal scorers of national championships.

Let us give you some background! The prize "European Golden Shoe" has been founded almost half a century ago in 1968 and the famous forward of Benfica and Portuguese national team Eusébio became its first owner. Then the turn of Petar Zhekov, Gerd Müller and other famous goal-scorers of the 1970th has come. And in the first decade from the date of foundation of this annual competition it was incredibly popular in all European top football countries.

However, over time the fact that the final winner of the "European Golden Shoe" was defined with ever increasing frequency in the championships of Cyprus, Romania, Austria, Bulgaria and Yugoslavia which doesn’t exist anymore began to irritate bosses of UEFA and many presidents of grandees of continental football. It appeared that it is much easier to score 35-40 balls during the season in these countries, than in the EPL or Bundesliga.

And therefore over time the interest of grandees in this competition has practically run short. And in this situation Adidas became the new organizer of the competition, and at the same time has created the wise decision which has radically changed the relation of top leagues and the top goal scorers to the "European Golden Shoe".

According to new regulations, the total number of scored goals, for example, during the season 2016/2017 by the top goal scorers of the championships of Spain, England, Germany, Italy and Portugal is multiplied by coefficient 2.0. That is, now representatives of minor Leagues, and especially, Bulgaria or Cyprus have no chances to win the European competition.

That is how the TOP-3 of the best goal scorers last season looked like:

1. Lionel Messi (Barcelona) - 74 (37)

2. Bas Dost (Sporting) - 68 (34)

3. Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (Borussia D) – 62 (31)

This time the first prize of the European goal-scorer was again won by Lionel Messi - 74 points (37 balls). And now, with the beginning of new seasons in England and in France that has replaced Portugal, the "European Golden Shoe 2018" has started. Also, new championships of Spain, Italy and Germany will begin. We will speak in details about new achievements of the best players in our next announcements.

We wish you successful betting!

Read also: betting tips Champions League

TOP BOOKMAKERS BONUSES all bookmakers bonuses
10bet €200
Sbobet €150
bet365 sports betting online £200
188bet £50
Bodog sports $250
Top asian bookmakers all bookmakers
Pinnacle sports
20% discount on the VIP tips VIP tips Register at two Asian bookmakers and get 20% discount on the VIP tips sign up