12 October 2017

EUROPE. In the final World Cup 2018 tournament 14 national teams of our continent will take place. This is the host of the forthcoming planetary championship – Russia, the defending champion of the world - Bundesteam and also national teams of England, Belgium, Iceland, Spain, Poland, Portugal, Serbia and France. Four more final berths will be played on the 9-14th of November during additional play-offs with participation of Greece, Denmark, Ireland, Italy, Northern Ireland, Croatia, Switzerland and Sweden. The vice-champion of group F-Slovakia - was the ninth extra team.


On the 17th of October in Zurich the drawing of play-offs will take place. Today the European qualification stages are absolutely finished and let us say once again that fixing of eight best vice-champions of groups took place according to quite intricate scheme:

"All nine winners of groups got into the World Cup 2018 automatically. Eight best holders of the second places (by results against the first, third, fourth and fifth national teams in group) will play in play-offs. Results against the sixth places weren't taken into consideration so that participants of groups with six teams had no advantage of the participants of groups with five teams".

This is the way the present regulations of UEFA look like. All this would be ridiculous if it wasn't so sad. It is obvious that top officers of the European football agency didn't even find time to count the number of participants of each group. None of them has five teams and therefore it was possible to name eight best vice-champions of the groups by total outcomes calmly and quietly and without any additional calculations.

SOUTH AMERICA. Brazil, Uruguay, Argentina and Colombia became the holders of four direct berths. And the fifth final team of CONMEBOL (the national team of Peru) faces two matches battle against the winner of Confederation of Oceania New Zealand on the 6th and 14th of November.

NORTH AMERICA. Mexico, Costa Rica and Panama became the participants of the final tournament of the FIFA World Cup Russia 2018 from CONCACAF. The national team of Honduras having taken the fourth place will also face intercontinental battle consisting of two matches against the national team of Australia.

AFRICA. It is the only Confederation of six ones where the qualifying campaign is still going on. Today the national teams of Egypt and Nigeria became the winners of their groups. Three more African teams will be defined during the last November round.

But in Asian Confederation all participants of the World Cup were defined in September. Thus, names of 23 finalists of the forthcoming planetary championship are known today. These are Russia, Germany, England, Belgium, Iceland, Spain, Poland, Portugal, Serbia, France, Brazil, Uruguay, Argentina, Colombia, Mexico, Costa Rica, Panama, Japan, South Korea, Iran, Saudi Arabia, Egypt and Nigeria.

The final list of participants of the FIFA World Cup Russia 2018 will be defined on the 15th of November when the African qualification campaign will come to the end and all six additional play-offs will be played.

And now some words about the main disappointments of this qualifying campaign. The Netherlands, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Chile, Ecuador, the USA, Algeria, Ghana and Cameroon won’t definitely take part at the forthcoming battle. Really, it is very difficult to imagine the final World Cup tournament without the Flying Dutchmen and the national team of the USA.

Read also: 2018 World Cup predictions

TOP BOOKMAKERS BONUSES all bookmakers bonuses
10bet €200
Sbobet €150
bet365 sports betting online £200
188bet £50
Bodog sports $250
Top asian bookmakers all bookmakers
Pinnacle sports
20% discount on the VIP tips VIP tips Register at two Asian bookmakers and get 20% discount on the VIP tips sign up